Nanjing Impressions

Nanjing Impressions was gaining traction amongst the foodie bloggers a while back and I thought I should try it once the fad dies down.

We were there on a Saturday evening and waited approximately 20 mins before we could get a table for 4. Nanjing Impressions is located at Plaza Singapura (new wing) Level 4 and is basically a concept restaurant; taking you all the way back to China, 100 years ago. Apparently, it is lauded as one of the must visit restaurants in China, boasting more than 40 outlets! #impressiveimpressions

 

Nanjing Impressions serves mainly sichuan cuisine and offers more than 60 different items on its menu. I thought most of the dishes ordered were really tasty albeit served in really small portions- think along the lines of chinese tapas.

Best dish of the night, Fried Nian Gao (aka fried rice cake). I don’t really fancy fried things but this is seriously DA BOMB. It’s crispy on the outside and ooey gooey chewy inside. I also like how it’s not too oily and not too sweet. Ain’t the healthiest thing but I would definitely order this again!

IMG_4812.JPG

2nd best dish of the night was the sour plum peanuts. I thought it was a tad too sweet but the tanginess from the sour plum did help cut through the sweetness a little. *disclaimer* I am a peanut lover & I might be bias.

IMG_4808.JPG

Both the fried white bait and the chicken were decent but not something I would die to have during the 2nd visit.

IMG_4811.JPG
Fried White Bait
img_4813
Baby Rooster Stew $23.80

Today I tried a new restaurant. When was the last time you tried a new restaurant?

Leave a Reply

