The Bakery by Woodlands Sourdough

I’m no connoisseur when it comes to sourdough but I’m pretty sure I had one of the best in San Francisco: Boudin Sourdough!

IMG_3101

It has been a while since I had good sour dough and boy were those from Woodland sourdough awesome! Located at 10 Jalan Serene, The Bakery is pretty much a hole in the wall (minus those seating spaces extended outside the preparation area). I’m seriously amazed how 4 people could operate in that tiny kitchen.

IMG_3102

The Bakery sells the whole loaf of sourdough for $6-$7. Alternatively you can get slices of them topped with their unique spreads for approx $4. By unique, I really mean unique! They have flavours like peanut butter w sriracha sauce, Vegemite w butter & cheddar cheese etc.

The boy and I weren’t that keen on trying new flavours hence we went for the safer options. The nut butter with honey (one of their best seller) tasted like how it sounded. Toppings weren’t special but the toast was sooo darn good! Toasted to perfection, the sourdough was crispy on the edges and had a great sour chew at the center.

IMG_3099
Nut Butter w Honey & Salt ($3.50)

I really wanted to try their hummus (I love hummus!!) but they ran out of it 😦 I guess we settle for the next better player: sage cream cheese with berry compote. Likewise, the topping tasted like whatever it promised; not that I’m complaining. Who knew sage cream cheese tasted so good. I would have preferred the berries to be slightly sweeter as the cream cheese was a little sour. I must say they were really generous with their spreads though.

IMG_3100
Sage cream cheese with berry compote – $4

The toasts with their spreads were amazing but for $3-$5 a slice, I think it’s slightly on the expensive side; considering the fact that these toast were smaller than my palm. Then again I think their unique & interesting spreads justifies the price and warrant one to try ( at least once).

I would definitely buy the toast and make my own little toasties at home though! Their sourdough is pretty legit!

This is the first time I tried legit sourdough in Singapore, when was the last time you had a sourdough?

Leave a Reply

