Peanut Butter Tart

IMG_2158

I’m sorry if I’m boring you with all the food posts but if you haven’t already realized; I’m a huge foodie lover. I eat, breathe and live for food! I guess God made me gain fats so that I don’t eat myself to death.

Speaking of fats, Peanut Butter is my nemesis. It is my Achilles heel when it comes to dieting and I can just finish the entire jar of PB if my thighs & bum allow me. So what better way to add more guilt than to make a tart out of peanut butter! #epicdietfail

IMG_2160

These peanut butter chocolate tart is soooo good; I swear I would have ran another 10km just to have another slice. Best part is, there is minimal baking involved; all you need to do is blind bake the tart shell. However, the downside is, it’s a little soft and needs awhile (more than 5 hours) to firm up. It also gets really soft after sitting out in Singapore’s mega humid weather.

I’ll be honest if you like thick dense tart then this tart isn’t your cuppa tea. This tart is silky smooth and tastes just like a peanut butter mousse with an extra kick from the chocolate crunch! I’m not a mousse fan but this tart won me over.

IMG_2173

You can check out the original recipe from (http://www.thelittleepicurean.com/2015/10/peanut-butter-oat-tart.html) I modified the crust using a chocolate oat crust which was puuuuurrrrffffeeeeccctttt~

9-10 inch pie tin
Serving: 12-15 (depending on how greedy your guests are)

Cocoa Oat Crust: 

  • 90g old fashioned rolled oats
  • 85g digestive biscuits
  • 15g unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 27g dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 99g unsalted butter, melted
Honey Peanut Butter Mousse:
  • 240g heavy cream, chilled
  • 250g Peanut Butter (sweetened)
  • 1 Tbsp honey (19g)
  • a pinch of salt
 
Chocolate Glaze:
  • 120g dark chocolate chips, at least 60% cacao
  • 15g unsalted butter
  • 1 Tbsp light corn syrup
  • cacoa nibs, as needed for topping
DIRECTIONS:

Cocoa Oat Crust:

  1. Preheat oven to 180C.
  2. In a food processor, pulse digestives, cocoa powder, sugar, and salt.
  3. You do not want to end up with oat flour hence add in oats last. Pulse just until the rolled oats are somewhat broken up. Add in melted butter and stir until mixture comes together. Press into tart shell with removable bottom.
  4. Bake for 12-15 minutes (I baked it for 12 mins) until crust is set and golden brown. Crust may slightly puff up during baking. Use the bottom of a glass or measuring cup to gently press crust into shell. Set aside and allow to cool to room temperature before filling.
Honey Peanut Butter Mousse:
  1. Place chilled cream in a chilled bowl. Whip to medium peaks.
  2. Add peanut butter, honey, and salt. Continue to whip to almost stiff peaks.
  3. Pour mousse into cooled cocoa oat crust. Spread into an even layer.

Chocolate Glaze:

  1. Gently melt together chocolate chips, butter and corn syrup over a bain-marie (double boiler). Alternatively, you can microwave mixture at half power for 10-15 second intervals until melted and smooth.
  2. Allow to cool for 10-12 minutes.
  3. Pour over peanut butter mousse and quickly spread into an even layer. Chocolate will set up because of the cold mousse. Set in the fridge and keep chilled (at least 5 hours) until ready to serve.

IMG_2155

Made a peanut butter tart for the first time I know right!? what took me so long!? When was the last time you made a peanut butter tart?

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Tart

Leave a Reply

