Book Review- The 5 Love Languages

I’ve read an article, couple of years back, which shared a snippet of this book, and thought to myself “That’s a very interesting way of looking at a relationship between 2 parties..”

Fast forward a few years, I’m done with this book and now I’m thinking to myself “Damn girl, these languages are legit!”

For those who have not read the book, the book basically mentions 5 love languages:

  1. Quality Time
  2. Words of Affirmation
  3. Physical Touch
  4. Acts of Service
  5. Gifts

Just like how different people have different skin colour, they might also speak different love languages. When 2 people are dating, they usually put in more effort to fill up each other’s love tanks and they are experiencing what Singaporeans call the “honeymoon” stage. However, after several years and/or after the big “M” word (marriage), things start to normalize and couples tend to speak their own love language/ not putting in so much effort to speak the other party’s love language- and that’s where things fall apart.

I like how the author (Gary Chapman) writes- very practical, very straightforward and very comprehendible. He even included some exercises at the end of each chapter & a FAQ at the end of the book. *brilliant*

As I was reading the book, I was starting to figure out what my love language was and my loved ones’ as well. Why? because Chapman even explains how to figure that out! isn’t he great!? I guess I just find the entire book making so much sense! that it seems so mind blowing-ly simple to salvage anything broken. The tough part actually stems from the commitment and dedication to speak the other party’s love language- just look at how Singaporeans struggle to speak mandarin or how Americans struggle to speak Spanish 😀 It’s even tougher when the other party does not appreciates or understand; that’s where you have to look yourself in the eye and ask how much you really want it.

Bottom line: If you just simply don’t understand why your partner isn’t happy and not appreciative, read this book! It sure enlightened the hell out of me.

I finished a relationship guide book this week, when was the last time you read a relationship guide book?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

